RSS Feed

Traffic, you are my nemesis.

Posted on

Well, I made my first successful trip to Dallas Love Field yesterday.  It reaffirmed for me all the reasons why I hate traffic with a passion.  No, seriously.  In fact, I was picking up our friend, Ben, who flew in from LA…and even he was complaining about the traffic.  Yep, Dallas traffic is WORSE than LA.  It’s THAT bad.  Horrible traffic aside, I was thankful that at least Love Field is smaller than DFW, it made it easy to get in and out AND there was no fee!

The good news is we made it home in one piece and the had a great dinner made by yours truly:  wine-marinated steak with a mushroom-wine sauce, sauteed broccoli, and fresh baked rolls.  All washed down with a nice Merlot, of course.  Do you notice a theme (hint: it starts with a “w”)?  It’s one of my very favorite themes. 😉

As for today, we just got home from church and are enjoying some nice relaxing Sabbath time.  There is nothing like this feeling. 🙂  Nathan, Ben, and Bella (our cat) are all napping…sadly, I can’t nap.  No matter how tired I am, I just can’t seem to fall asleep during the day. 😦  I guess it’s a good thing though…because the few random times that I actually HAVE managed to fall asleep, I wake up as a complete space cadet.  Of course, we had to stop by Freebirds on the way home.  Ben hadn’t eaten there in ELEVEN years (the last time he was in TX)…so it was essential that we go.  SO, now that I think about it, that may be a better explanation for their napping…considering Ben and Nathan both had mutant burritos the size of their heads.

Ben is one happy camper! (They DO exist, Jim Gaffigan!)

We’re having several friends over tonight.  I’m going to try an oven baked cheese ball for the first time…things could get interesting.  I’ll let you know how it goes. 😉

About tgilchrist

I'm a sixth grade language arts teacher...not to mention a health nut, world traveler, aspiring author, die-hard romantic, stay-at-home chef, and adoring wife. I also love British television (thanks to my brilliant husband), FRIENDS (I'm slightly [read: completely] obsessed), and all nut butters.

5 responses »

  1. I’m the same way about napping 🙂 That dinner sounds fabulous!

    Reply
    • I’m glad to hear that at least I’m not alone. I’m always in awe of the way Nathan can fall asleep at the drop of a dime — any time, any place. He’s so lucky!

      Reply
      • Hah! He takes after our dad, then. Jealous!! It would come in so handy for a mom. Just not fair! 😉

  2. Mushrooms! I am always amazed when I hear you are using mushrooms. AND since I have been there, I can say that Dallas traffic is worse than FL traffic, although they tend to stop at red lights. Maybe that is a plus?

    Reply
    • Haha, I have LOVED mushrooms for years now. I’m so glad your tastes often change as you get older, because they are woooooooooonderful. How did I go so long without them?!?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

