RSS Feed

Success!

Posted on

I’m happy to report that we all had a wonderful time last night!  Tons of great food, and even better friends and conversation.  We even played a little Balderdash before the night was said and done.

Unfortunately, after the guests left, things took a sudden turn for the worse.  Out of nowhere, I got a headache.  Not just an annoying, pulsing headache.  No, no.  A migraine. A monstrosity that left migraines cowering in a corner and crying in their cereals.  I literally felt like my head was splitting in two and then exploding into a million pieces.  Nothing I did caused any improvement, nor got me any closer to sleep.  It was so debilitating that I almost became delusional.  I entered that scary place in my head where hypochondria sets in and my mind jumps from one fear to the next (e.g. “What if something is REALLY wrong?!  What if I’m having an aneurysm or something?!?”).  My sweet, wonderful husband was kind enough to stay up with me and give me a back/head massage into the wee hours of the early morning, but it was still to no avail.  Needless to say, I got about an hour of sleep.  And, as you all learned yesterday, naps and I never cross paths.  SO, I will definitely be hitting the sack early tonight (probably as soon as I finish typing this, in fact).

Despite my groggy day, there was a silver lining of accomplishment.  After months of manually plugging our HDMI cable into the wall-mounted TV any time we wanted to watch something on our media drive, we finally had the opportunity to run the cable through the wall behind, and around, the fireplace.   Why the long wait, you ask?  Well, in order to run the cable through the wall, we would have to take the television DOWN first…and I was afraid that if I was the only one around to help Nathan, I would surely drop the TV to it’s premature death.  Enter Ben.  The men got to work, and after about twenty minutes…

Good ol' fishing tape.

Almost...

…the men were victorious!

We are MEN. Hear us roar!

This called for a celebration.  Naturally, this meant we needed to use the TV and media drive and bask in our greatness.  Thus, we celebrated by watching Date Night.  Ben had really been wanting to see it, and given my and Nathan’s love for almost all things Steve Carrell, we definitely didn’t object to seeing it again.  It did not disappoint.

All in all it was a loooooooooong, but ultimately successful, day.  Now if you’ll excuse me…ZzzzzzZZZzzzzZZZZzzzzzzZZZZzzzzzzz…

P.S.  The baked Brie was a success, too!  I highly recommend it.  And, you’re welcome.  I know your wondering would have kept you up all night.

About tgilchrist

I'm a sixth grade language arts teacher...not to mention a health nut, world traveler, aspiring author, die-hard romantic, stay-at-home chef, and adoring wife. I also love British television (thanks to my brilliant husband), FRIENDS (I'm slightly [read: completely] obsessed), and all nut butters.

3 responses »

  1. What kind of baked brie did you try? I tried topping a round with blackberry jam and wrapping it in puff pastry once but it did not turn out super great… :-/

    Reply
    • I wasn’t adventurous enough to do it all on my own like that. I actually had never tried baked brie, but discovered it at good ol’ Town Talk. This is the brand I used. Everyone seemed to really love it, and it was SUPER easy — simply pop it in the oven! 🙂

      Reply
      • Oh YUM! I definitely don’t remember that kind of thing at Town Talk when I was young– but it was probably because I was distracted by the sweeties. 🙂

Leave a Reply

