RSS Feed

So, about this whole “homeowner” thing…

Posted on

Ugh.  So, I know I’ve been unusually silent, but any of you that work in education know what the last week of school can be like (i.e. cRaZiNesS)!  A lot has been happening in our world, but I’m a little overwhelmed as to WHERE to begin.  I’ll start with today’s happenings, and then in my next post I’ll catch you up on my latest tech-savvy expedition!  (Dying to know aren’t ya?!)  I’ll also have to give my thoughts on the AMAZING Dr. Who episodes we’ve had, as well as lament on how much I will miss the Doctor…but I’ll have four looooooong months to talk about that…

SO, on to today’s latest…

Today Nathan and I added another page to our book as first-time homeowners:  we had our carpets cleaned.  I was in a curriculum workshop all day, but Nathan was home to “man the fort.”  Being the dutiful husband that he is, he had the forethought to take some snaps of our empty living room…

Bath time! ;*)

…and our VERY crowded kitchen.

Iiiiiiiiiitty Bitty Living Space! (Name that movie.)

We were surprised at just how much we COULD fit in one kitchen.

There's even still a little room to walk!

 

Nathan was engrossed in Catching Fire (I’ve been trying to get him to finish the trilogy for ages!), so he didn’t really pay attention when the carpet cleaner left.  WELL, then I got home, and, being a woman, actually LOOKED at the carpet that was supposed to be clean and beautiful.

It had not been raked.

There were footprints everywhere.

It was obvious that he hadn’t applied the carpet protector, even though we paid for it.

I was not happy.

Nathan called the company, and at first they said they would send a tech out to apply the protector and rake the carpets tomorrow…and to just stay off the carpets until then.  Riiiiiiiight.  Tell that to my cat that has been locked in the laundry room all day.  Oh, and, um, where do I sleep?  How do I get ready for work?  Yeahhhhhhhhhh, tomorrow’s not going to work.  Thankfully, when Nathan called back (again!), the manager said he would send a tech out right away.  The tech had to come from Frisco though, so “right away” during rush hour equals about two hours.  Eventually the same cleaner we had the first time came back and finally finished what he started.  Of course, then we had to wait several hours for the carpets to dry AGAIN since the protector was just applied.  Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Ah, well, at least the day is over.

 

About tgilchrist

I'm a sixth grade language arts teacher...not to mention a health nut, world traveler, aspiring author, die-hard romantic, stay-at-home chef, and adoring wife. I also love British television (thanks to my brilliant husband), FRIENDS (I'm slightly [read: completely] obsessed), and all nut butters.

4 responses »

  1. Raking carpet… okay. While I am busy raking the mulch tomorrow at work, I will be thinking of you…

    Reply
  2. Ah, fun. So sorry. Aladdin! And I can’t wait for Dr Who either… sigh.

    Reply
    • Yay! I knew you would know the movie. It looks like we may be nearby at the FOT…you know we’ll have to chat about our thoughts and predictions on the Doctor then! :*D So far I think the writing in this season has been amazing!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

