RSS Feed

Something’s fishy around here…

Posted on

Okay, so, those of you who know me well know that I am a HUGE health nut.  BUT, I have a confession.  I…I…well, you see, the thing is…I don’t like fish.

Actually that’s not quite right.

I HATE fish.

All I have to do is THINK about the taste, the texture, the smell…and I immediately feel nauseous.  So, yeah, that kind of feeling isn’t exactly appetizing.  However, those of you who know me well also know that I’m pretty determined when I want to be (some call it hardheaded, but I think determined is MUCH more accurate).

This isn’t my first round with amazingly healthy food that I find amazingly…disgusting.  I had this same problem with avocados.  Yes, I know…I KNOW.  “How can you NOT like avocados?!  I loooooooooove avocados!!”  If I had a dime for every time I heard that one…

But notice that I said HAD this same problem.  That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, I’ve joined the “How do you NOT love avocados?!?” club that I used to detest.  It took weeks of me mixing guacamole into other things to completely cover up the mushy consistency (I never really minded the taste; I just could NOT get over the mushiness), but slowly I was able to mix it into things less and less and now I absolutely love it!!  I still don’t think I could eat one completely plain, but add it as a topping or spread and we are in business!

Anyway, I digress.  Back to the fish…naturally, I was NOT going to let the fish beat me.

I would be victorious.

I embarked on my quest to find fish recipes for people that don’t like fish (I LOVE YOU GOOGLE), and quickly found several that sounded like they might do the trick.  Then I met a woman who has become my new best friend!  Well, technically, we haven’t met.  Actually, we don’t know each other at all.  BUT, her name is Karina and her recipes are to die for!  I follow a really clean eating lifestyle, and her recipes are perfection!  I’m not vegan nor gluten-intolerant, but I eat a lot of things that follow along that path just because they are good for you and TASTY (e.g. quinoa, fresh veggies, legumes).  So, finding her site has been a welcome oasis.  She even has a section of all Mediterranean-inspired dishes…which is mainly what I eat (I looooooooove me some olive oil).  The other night I made her recipe for Quinoa Salad with Pears, Baby Spinach, and Chickpeas in a Maple Vinaigrette.  Magnificent!!!!!  I substituted the pears, maple syrup, and pecans with apples, walnuts, and honey and it was awesome!  I can’t wait to try it without the substitutions when I have those ingredients on hand, too.

Ah, I’m digressing again…back to the fish.

I settled on Mediterranean Fish in Foil Packets with Rice.  It sounded quick, easy, fresh, and delicious.

In just about 20 minutes, it was time to face the music.

Notice the VAST mountain of vegetables covering the salmon...

And the verdict??

FAN-TAST-IC!!!!

Seriously: PARTY IN MY MOUTH!  The flavors were absolutely incredible.  Nathan and I both just couldn’t get over it.  Everything was so flavorful that I didn’t have to worry about tasting the salmon at all!! 😉  There was one bite that had a hefty chunk of salmon in it, and for a moment, I was scared.  But, I just popped in an extra bit of tomato and onion and all was well.  Obviously, I’m not over my fish-phobia yet, but in the meantime I have this delectable dish to keep my mouth fooled and my heart healthy. 🙂

OH, and did you know that salmon makes you sleepy?  I KNOW (*channeling Monica Gellar and Craig Ferguson*)!! 😉  Towards the end of the meal, I started to feel super sleepy.  And I’m not just talking a little drowsy here.  Think, more along the lines of head-in-the-plate exhausted.  A few minutes later Nathan said to me, “I feel like my face is turned off.  My mind isn’t tired, but my eyes are forcing themselves closed.”  Since we were both feeling so tired, we knew something was up.  So, naturally, we googled foods that make you drowsy and sure enough: salmon.  Apparently, it raises your level of melatonin.  And we know it wasn’t just psychological for us, because we truly had no idea until after feeling the effects.  SO, all you ragged moms out there, now you know yet another reason to make salmon for supper.  You’re welcome.

About tgilchrist

I'm a sixth grade language arts teacher...not to mention a health nut, world traveler, aspiring author, die-hard romantic, stay-at-home chef, and adoring wife. I also love British television (thanks to my brilliant husband), FRIENDS (I'm slightly [read: completely] obsessed), and all nut butters.

4 responses »

  1. What about mangoes? Kind of late to try, we are running out of them, FINALLY!

    Reply
    • Lol! I looooooooooooove dried mangoes. So, dehydrate the ones that are in excess and then bring them to me!! 😉

      Reply
  2. Kale salad!! Eat it! Its amazingly tasty and AMAZINGLY good for you!! I’ll have to find the recipe, but its something like… finely chopped kale, tossed in olive oil until it wilts down a bit. And then make a dressing with olive oil, lemon juice, pepper, and honey. And whip it until its a dressing consistancy. And then mix the greens in the dressing and add chopped mangos (Says the recipe). I added peaches and nectarines, and they were amazing. its SOOOO good!

    Reply
    • Oooooo, this sounds SO good!!!! I happen to have some nectarines right now, and fresh spinach….it’s not kale, but close enough! And I love anything involving olive oil! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

