RSS Feed

Oh Texas, why are you so flat?!?

Four years ago when I took a road trip along the California coast, I fell in love.  I hate to disappoint all you romantics out there, but this trip had nothing to do with meeting my soul mate.  (I actually ended up meeting my future husband about a month after the aforementioned journey).  No, it wasn’t a person that stole my heart; it was the quaint, picturesque village of Carmel by the Sea.  I pledged then and there that I would move to the central California coast.  Why waste anymore time NOT living in such a gorgeous place?!?

And then I met Nathan.

He lived in Texas.  I lived in Virginia.  So, the Moving-to-California plan became the Moving-to-Texas plan.  Don’t get me wrong, California is absolutely beautiful, but it doesn’t hold a candle to spending the rest of my life with my best friend.  However, that being said, don’t think that has stopped me from subjecting my wonderful husband to repeatedly listening to me talk about this storybook city and all its wonder.

Now, finally, we had the chance to go together.  And for the Feast of Tabernacles, no less!  Technically we stayed in Monterey (which is equally charming and beautiful), but it’s right next door to Carmel so we were able to explore both areas.  I thought I loved it the first time around, but sharing the experience with not only my amazing husband, but friends and brethren as well, was absolutely incredible!!  Ten glorious days in Carmel and Monterey left us so inspired and refreshed, both spiritually and physically.

And this was just on the drive from the airport!

And now, a week after our return, I am going through serious withdrawals.  I need the mountains.  I need the sea.  I constantly hear Bill Murray in my head saying, “Gimme, gimme, gimme!!!  I NEED!!!  I NEED!!!”  (What about Bob? fans, you know what I’m talking about!)  And instead of the picture-perfect mountains and rocky shores, I find the shriveled flatlands of north Texas.  Sigh.  This is no place for a native of the Shenandoah Valley.  I think I might need to bring the Moving-to-California plan back out on the table.  I’m just saying…

About tgilchrist

I'm a sixth grade language arts teacher...not to mention a health nut, world traveler, aspiring author, die-hard romantic, stay-at-home chef, and adoring wife. I also love British television (thanks to my brilliant husband), FRIENDS (I'm slightly [read: completely] obsessed), and all nut butters.

2 responses »

  1. Carmel is indeed beautiful! If you guys do ever move out this way, we would be thrilled to have you guys so close. But beware! Don’t accept any opportunities over the mountain range inland (where we are! Lol)… or you’ll be stuck in a flat, shriveled, desert of the Armpit of California. 🙂
    Don’t settle for anything less!

    Reply
    • Haha — “the Armpit of California” — too funny!! Yeah, if we ever do get the opportunity to move out there, it would definitely be along the coast; I love the sea!! If only it weren’t so crazy expensive!! 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

